Lisburn Exiles Forum

(Site is no longer operational pending a major long overdue overhaul of the entire website. Thank you for your patience. Site should still be visible and searchable for old posts.)

The Lisburn Exiles Forum is dedicated to the memory of James Goddard Collins (The Boss) who single-handedly built LISBURN.COM (with a lot of help from many contributors) from 1996 to 29th November 2012. This website was his passion and helping people with a common interest in the City of Lisburn around the world is his lasting legacy.

Lisburn Exiles Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
yet more people

I was really ‘down’ today, till Arsenal won. Now I’ve come to perk you guys up.
Once again, I’ve looked back through a couple of ‘pages’ of comments, and enjoyed the experience. Anybody remember Richie Neill, from Barnsleys Row – (The Hollow’ . He used to go out with a cute wee girl called Babes Murray. A ‘chippie’ by trade, he too did a bit of – what else? – boxing.

Re: yet more people

Greatest boxer from the town ,to me was Joe Boy Collins, he worked as a fitter in Hilden Mill, died very young.

Fraser,
I think you would have to put Messrs Thompson,Keery and Watters up there if not ahead.

I get really ‘hooked’ when you guys write these names. I grew up admiring them, seeing only a few of them fight, but hearing of their exploits. I guess someone looking in would remember, may be related to, Jim Russell. I used to feel honoured, when, down at the toss in the hollow, he bothered to speak to me, and proud that he asked; “How’s your da?” I think they were both ‘fond of the bottle’, But didn’t Jim, as a professional, fight Paddy Slavin a couple of times? Who cares if he lost? He was ‘our man’, against the best the country could produce. I once saw him, in the Wallace Park, have a fight with Tommy Lewis. Well, it wasn’t exactly a fight. Tommy started it, and Jim quickly finished it.